Berry Pink.

In January of 2005, Shelly Hwang and Young Lee celebrated the grand opening of their first ever store. Located on a small residential street in Los Angeles, their aim was to rejuvenate the 1980’s craze that was and has once again become frozen yogurt! Which store you may be wondering? I’ll give you a hint…. It’s “the taste that launched 1,000 parking tickets!” Still no idea? Well let me be specific. The particular store I am referring too has quickly become a staple in todays ever changing pop culture society. The store in question being the immensely popular ‘Pinkberry’.

I first heard of Pinkberry through friends who are major fans of the product. Their raving reviews however did not convince me! It took me until the summer of 2007 to finally give in to the hype, you could say curiosity finally killed the cat. I just had to see what all the fuss was about!

After waiting in line at the melrose branch for around 20 minutes. I decided upon the small (5 US fl oz (150 ml)) original flavor topped with a small amount of fruity pebbles. My first initial response was that of disgust! This couldn’t be right! Was this really the product that sent the nation into mass hysteria? After taking two more bites I decided it was more fit for the nearest trash can than of my consumption. Never again would I go against my first instinct, after all we have instincts for a reason.

So please somebody tell me why, WHY!? Did I go against my instincts once again and venture into the store? Granted, it has been more than a year since I first tried it, maybe my memory isn’t quite up to par!? Regardless it was a stupid thing to do, and I really mean it this time when I say I will never convince myself that purchasing anything from Pinkberry is a good idea!

pinkberry The proof is in the photograph.

Need more convincing? Check out the excerpt from wikipedia below.

“Originally marketed as frozen yogurt, Pinkberry has recently faced complaints that its product does not meet the California Department of Food and Agriculture’s definition of frozen yogurt because it does not contain the necessary amount of bacterial cultures per ounce. The Los Angeles Times sent samples of Pinkberry’s product to a lab and revealed that Pinkberry did contain active yogurt cultures, but it does not contain the minimum amount of culture to call itself frozen yogurt, according to California state law.[12] According to the Los Angeles Times, Pinkberry’s product had only 69,000 bacterial cultures per gram, compared to 200,000 for Baskin-Robbins. The National Yogurt Association (NYA) established its own criteria for live and active culture yogurt. In order for manufacturers to carry their Live and Active Culture seal, refrigerated yogurt products must contain at least 100 million cultures per gram at the time of manufacture, and frozen yogurt products must contain 10 million cultures per gram at the time of manufacture. This level was based on a survey of leading research scientists involved in clinical studies of the health attributes associated with live and active culture yogurt”.

Pinkberry have since ‘appeared’ to have altered their recipe and have full rights to call themselves frozen yogurt, BUT! who in their right mind would want to eat ‘frozen yogurt’ from a company that deceived it’s patrons for three years? I decree, NEXT!

xoxo

January 11, 2009. Uncategorized.

3 Comments

  1. Matt Elzie replied:

    Try Yogurtland. It rules so hard.

    • ashleyjade replied:

      hey!
      Thanks for the suggestion, I’m going to try it next time I’m in Van Nuys.
      :]

      xoxo

  2. everwonderaboutanything replied:

    i concur, i had 2 bites of your pinkberry and i almost throw up in my mouth..it was horrible..never again will i step foot in that establishment again….hahahaha like you said NEXT………

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

